Fountain Pen Nib Grinding

I’ve been a huge fan of fountain pens. The writing is really smooth, and the best part is that it’s very ergonomic! I’ve read articles on the internet about how the increased usage of computers has conditioned us to hold the pen like a mouse, gripping the pen with far too much force than is necessary, thus straining our wrist. It’s made worse by the fact that we’re normally using ball-point pens that require us to apply additional force on the pen onto the paper, so that ink can flow out. At the end of the day, if you write a lot, you’ll get a really sore hand and wrist. Fountain pens help to correct this problem. Especially if you get a good fountain pen, it corrects your handwriting and pen-holding posture. Hold it badly and the ink will not flow out (or it’ll give you a hard time writing). This forces you to hold the pen the right way, helps to correct your handwriting, and more important, prevents wrist strain!

Anyway, I could say a lot more about the awesomeness of the fountain pen, but that’s not the focus of today’s post. Today’s post is about grinding the nib. A friend of mine told me about nib grinding. Basically, it involves using a knife sharpening stone or one of those women’s cosmetic nail files, and using that to grind/file your nib to produce the desired effect.

This is excellent! I’ve always loved the calligraphy nib (unlike the standard fountain pen nibs that have a rounded ball tip). This nib helps to make cursive writing look really really elegant. Unfortunately, for some odd reason, the calligraphy nibs that I could find are all medium sized. There are no fine sized calligraphy nibs. I just find medium nibs are bit too big for my liking. Also, another reason why people choose to grind their nibs is because the calligraphy nib can be very hard to find. So rather than searching the entire world for one, you could always grind your standard fountain pen nib into a calligraphy nib of your desired size.

Anyway, after reading up how to grind my nib on the internet, I took a spare one that’s lying around in my room, and proceeded to grind it down to a fine-size calligraphy nib. Here’s a sample of what I can achieve with a ground nib (and yes, that is my handwriting):

Cool, right?

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Jonathan Sim

Hello! If you'd like to know more about me, click on this link to find out more! http://themyriadthoughts.wordpress.com/about/

5 responses to “Fountain Pen Nib Grinding”

  1. Orlando Uy says :

    I have an extra pen that I’d like to grind to a calligraphy pen… any tips you can share? thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

